59th Annual General Meeting

59th Annual General Meeting

The 59th Annual General Meeting was held on Monday 23rd of October, with the two elected directors and president’s position filled, whilst a special resolution was passed. The annual report for the 2022/23 season was presented and can be found here.


The special resolution was to change the terms of Board Directors from 2 years to 3 years, with the resolution passing with a clear majority. The maximum term will change from 10 years to 9 years, to align with the terms. Newly elected directors will be appointed for the full three years, with the terms of the remaining board directors to be recalibrated to ensure that there is an election at each annual general meeting.


There were two elected director positions available, with only two nominations received, both candidates were deemed elected. Therefore Rowing ACT is excited to announce Jaime Fernandez OLY and Alice Arch as the two new elected directors. President, Kent Peters thanked on behalf of the board the outgoing directors Ben Page and Craig Jones. Additionally at the October Board Meeting Tobias Wehr-Candler was re-appointed as a Director whilst Vinhara Goonesekera resigned as an elected director.

Meet the new Rowing ACT Board Directors below

Jaime said of being elected to the board “I’m incredibly humbled and excited about joining the Board of RACT. Having rowed in and for the ACT for the majority of my rowing career, followed by coaching and leading programs at School, State, National and International level I recognise the importance of providing people with an experience that is both positive and supportive. Likewise, supporting the performance pathway, national pipeline, being critical to ensuring that we continue to provide an opportunity for athletes to pursue their dream and ambitions of representing their State and AUS.”




Alice said of being elected “I’m very pleased and humbled to have been elected to the Rowing ACT Board and very happy to be here. I am looking forward to getting involved further in the Rowing ACT community and doing my part”







Kent Peters was re-elected as president of the Rowing ACT board, saying ““I am very humbled to have been re-elected by the community as president of the RACT Board. I am looking forward to being able to continue the work we have done on the board and make Rowing the best sport in the ACT community as we know it is”






At the October Board meeting, secretary Vinhara Goonesekera announced her resignation from the board, leaving one year on her elected term. The board has chosen to fill the casual vacancy, with Peter Wright being appointed in the position at the October board meeting.

“I am excited to be joining the Rowing ACT Board and looking forward to working collaboratively with the Board Members and the Clubs for the benefit of Rowing in the ACT”






Finally, in governance matters, it was announced at the AGM, that Sarah Davoren has been appointed to the role of Executive Officer – Operations, after holding the role in an acting capacity since the departure of Stuart John in May. Sarah said “I am very excited to have been appointed to this role, and I am looking forward to seeing Rowing ACT continue to grow in all areas. I am humbled and thankful for the support of the RACT board and the wider community”