Trophies of the ACT – draft 2

Trophies of the ACT

Rowing ACT was founded in 1964. Since that time many trophies have been created. Some of these trophies are no longer relevant, for example races involving tubs, some have been obscured by the mists of time or simply lost. However, a good number of trophies have endured and Rowing ACT has catalogued them to honour those who have been successful over the years.

A full listing of trophies and other awards are set out at the bottom of this page.  However, the trophies have been categorised below.

Summer Regatta Season

There are usually 5 points-scoring regattas leading to the ACT Champs.  For some seasons, six regattas are staged.

ACT Championship Pennent Presidents Shovel
ACT Men’s Championship Pennent Scullers Cup
ACT Women’s Championship Pennent Uriarra Cup
Banjo Cup  Veterans Fours Plate
Golden Jubilee Trophy Steve Fairbairn Memorial Cup
 Greg Welsh Cup
 Phere Niki
Other Regatta trophies
Canberra Day Bucket

Winter Time Trials

The winter time trail series was started  by Mark Kwiatkowski of Canberra Rowing Club.  It was subsequently handed over to Rowing ACT which has run it ever since.  The race is over about a 4 km course running from Scrivener Dam to Yarralumla Bay, following the contours of Lake Burley Griffin.  Although there are a range of prizes, there are two main awards.

The Col Panton (/Marathon) Trophies

Black Pete Plate

Cootapatamba Trophy


Panton Memorial Trophy

David Stegeman Trophy  Skippers Shield

The Cliff Hills Shield for Contribution to ACT Rowing

Many people contribute, some are recognised but the efforts of all are appreciated.

Cliff Hills Shield

Disher Cup

The Disher Cup is an annual race Men’s 8+  limited to ACT universities and military colleges

Events of the past – old and lost trophies

These trophies are no longer awarded, missing or both. If you know where any of these trophies please contact Rowing ACT.

ACTEW Radford Trophy Cotter Cup Peter Wilkinson Trophy
ACTRA Cup Donoghoe Family Trophy
Ada Libbis Trophy Flotta Lauro Bowl Schoolboy Tub Four Trophy
Ampol Trophy Fraser Cup Shakespear Cup
Bill O’Brien Shield Garran Cup  The Doc’s Cup
Burley Griffin Plate Gluckwunsch Cup Westbourne Woods Plate
CGS Association Cup Molonglo Cup
Corin Bowl NCDC Rose Bowl Yarramundi Medal

Awards Calendar

Event and Timing


ANU Regatta (early February) Steve Fairbairn Memorial Cup
End of Season (March) Banjo Cup Phere Niki
Cliff Hills Shield President’s Shovel
Golden Jubilee Trophy Uriarra Cup
Greg Welsh Cup Veteran Fours Plate
WTT (September) Lyn Cirulis Shield Mark Kwiatkowski Cup
Col Panton (October) Black Pete Plate Cootapatamba Trophy
David Stedgeman Trophy Panton Memorial Trophy
Skipper’s Shield
Disher Cup (October) Disher Cup

Alphabetical Listing of Trophies – both active and inactive

ACT Premiership Pennent ACT Championship Club
Men’s Premiership Pennent ACT Men’s Championship Club
ACT Women’s Premiership Pennent ACT Women’s Championship Club
ACTEW Radford Trophy Schoolboys Quad Scull at the Radford Regatta
ACTRA Cup Champion 3rd Grade Women’s Four
Ada Libbis Trophy Lightweight Men’s 4+
AMPOL Trophy Champion Women’s Open Four
Banjo Cup Men’s Open 4+
Bill O’Brien Shield Club point score
Black Pete Plate Fastest women’s boat in Col Panton Marathon who do not receive financial support
Burley Griffin Plate Novice Lightweight Men’s 4+
Canberra Day Bucket Women’s Open 8+
CGS Association Cup Schoolboys’ 1x
Cliff Hill Shield Service to ACT Rowing
Cootapatamba Cup Fastest 4x in the Col Panton Marathon
Corin Bowl Champion Schoolboy 1st Four
Cotter Cup Champion Schoolboy 3rd Four
David Stegeman Trophy Fastest 4+ in the Col Panton Marathon
Disher Cup Men’s 8+ from ACT universities and military colleges
Doc’s Cup Champion Schoolboy 2nd Four
Donoghoe Family Shield Schoolgirls Fours Championships
Flotta Lauro Bowl Champion 3rd Grade Men’s Eight
Fraser Cup Schoolboys’ 8+
Garran Cup Schoolboys’/ Junior Mens’ 4x+
Gluckwunsch Cup Intermediate Men’s Four
Golden Jubilee Trophy Women’s 8+ of the ACT
Greg Welsh Cup Schoolgirls’ 8+
Kwiatkowski Cup Best performance by a male sculler during annual Winter Time Trials
Lyn Cirulis Shield Best performance by female sculler during annual Winter Time Trials
Molonglo Cup Men’s Intermediate 4+
NCDC Rose Bowl Men’s Novice 4+
Panton Memorial Trophy Winner of the Col Panton Marathon
Peter Wilkinson Trophy Outstanding improvement during the season
Phere Niki Trophy Club with highest points score from ACT Championship regatta
Presidents Shovel Men’s Intermediate 8+
Schoolboy Tub Four Trophy  Schoolboy Tub Four
Sculler’s Cup Champion Women’s Open Single Scull
Shakespear Cup Open Men’s 8 at CGS Regatta
Skippers Shield Fastest boat in the Col Panton Marathon
Steve Fairbairn Memorial Cup Highest pointscore at the Annual ANU Regatta
Uriarra Cup Men’s Open 8+ ACT Championship
Veteran Four Plate Masters Men’s 4+
Westbourne Woods Plate Schoolgirls Eights Championship
Yarramundi Medal Awarded each year to most successful male and female athletes at the ACT Championship regatta