

# Your School is Invited to Attend the 2010 Independent Schools Rowing Championships

The 2010 Independent Schools Championship regatta will be conducted on Yarramundi Reach, Lake Burley Griffin in Canberra on the weekend of 20-21 February 2010.

#### **Status Rules:**

Championship:

open to all rowers.

Year 10:

for rowers enrolled in year 10 or under in 2010.

Year 9:

for rowers enrolled in year 9 or under in 2010.

Year 8:

for rowers enrolled in year 8 or under in 2010.

### **Entry Restrictions:**

- \* The rule limiting each rower to a maximum of two events has been rescinded. As the regatta program is divided into 4 Championship brackets separated by 3 Year Group brackets, the placement of events within the program gives an effective limit of 4 events per competitor.
- \* A competitor may enter in one Year category plus the Championship event in any class of boat but may not enter in two Year categories in any particular class of boat.
- \* By the ISRA Constitution, races conducted by this association are for the pupils of Constituent Members and for the pupils of independent schools who are individual registered members of a rowing association with an affiliation to Rowing Australia. The stated interpretation of this rule is that for schools to be eligible to row at ISRA, they must be ineligible to row at either CHS or GPS.

#### **Distances:**

Championship events and Boys Year 10 events :

1800 metres

Girls Year 10 events:

1500 metres

Year 8 and Year 9 events:

1000 metres

#### **Heats and Finals:**

- \* Events with 6 or fewer entries will be run as a single heat on Saturday with placings determining the lane allocation in the final on Sunday.
- \* Events requiring 2 heats: 1st, 2nd and 3rd to A final: 4th, 5th and 6th to B final.

- \* Events requiring 3 heats: 1st, 2nd to A final: 3rd, 4th to B final: 5th, 6th to C final.
- \* Events requiring 4 or more heats: Positions in finals determined by times with the 6 fastest crews to A final,  $7^{th} 12^{th}$  fastest crews to B final etc.

# Coxswain's weights:

- \* For boys events 50 kilograms.
- \* For girls events 45 kilograms.

#### **Bow Numbers:**

Each boat must carry a number on its bow correctly indicating its allocated lane for that race.

## Conduct of the Regatta:

The regatta will be conducted under the Laws of Boat Racing as applied by the ACTRA except where a particular rule of the ISRA Inc. applies.

#### **Entries:**

Closing date for entries: 5.00 pm on Tuesday 9th February 2010.

All entries must be made via Rowing Manager.

# **Entry Fees:**

\$15 per seat (no charge for coxswains).

Entry fees are to be paid directly to the ISRA by cheque. No money is to be paid to either ACTRA nor NSWRA.

Make cheques out to: ISRA

Mail to: Peter Bond, President ISRA,

P.O. Box 458 East Maitland, NSW, 2323.

# **General Regatta Information:**

This will be posted on the ACT Rowing Association website (<a href="http://www.rowingact.org.au/">http://www.rowingact.org.au/</a>) early in 2010. It would assist greatly with planning if each school could indicate their intention to enter via email to the regatta convenor by the end of January 2010.

### **Enquiries:**

All enquiries to : Dafydd Gwynn-Jones – Regatta Convenor

Phone : 02 62026456 Mobile : 0412 880893

Email (preferred method): <u>dafydd.gwynn-jones@cggs.act.edu.au</u>

OR to: Peter Bond – President ISRA

Phone (school): 02 4934 2444 Phone (home): 02 4955 1070 Fax (school): 02 4934 2404

Email (preferred method): rowing@hvgs.nsw.edu.au

# PROGRAM OF EVENTS 2010 INDEPENDENT SCHOOLS ROWING CHAMPIONSHIPS

Heats: Saturday 21st February 2010 Finals: Sunday 22nd February 2010

Venue : Yarramundi Reach, Lake Burley Griffin, Canberra.

Event	Code	Event
1	GCh 4x	Girls Champion Quad Scull
2	BCh 8+	Boys Champion Eight
3	ChBYr9 4x	Champion Boys Year 9 Quad Scull
4	ChBYr10 2x	Champion Boys Year 10 Double Scull
5	ChBYr8 1x	Champion Boys Year 8 Single Scull
6	ChGyr9 4x	Champion Girls Year 9 Quad Scull
7	ChGYr10 2x	Champion Girls Year 10 Double Scull
8	ChGYr8 1x	Champion Girls Year 8 Single Scull
	ChGyr9 4x	Second bracket of heats/finals
9	ChG 4+	Champion Girls Four
10	ChB 2x	Champion Boys Double Scull
11	ChG 1x	Champion Girls Single Scull
12	ChBYr10 4x	Champion Boys Year 10 Quad Scull
13	ChBYr8 2x	Champion Boys Year 8 Double Scull
14	ChBYr9 1x	Champion Boys Year 9 Single Scull
15	ChGYr10 4x	Champion Girls Year 10 Quad Scull
16	ChGYr8 2x	Champion Girls Year 8 Double Scull
17	ChGYr9 1x	Champion Girls Year 9 Single Scull
	ChGYr10 4x	Second bracket of heats/finals
18	ChB 4+	Champion Boys Four
19	ChG 2x	Champion Girls Double Scull
20	ChB 1x	Champion Boys Single Scull
21	ChBYr10 8+	Champion Boys Year 10 Eight
22	ChBYr8 4x	Champion Boys Year 8 Quad Scull
23	ChBYr9 2x	Champion Boys Year 9 Double Scull
24	ChBYr10 1x	Champion Boys Year 10 Single Scull
25	ChGYr8 4x	Champion Girls Year 8 Quad Scull
26	ChGYr9 2x	Champion Girls Year 9 Double Scull
27	ChGYr10 1x	Champion Girls Year 10 Single Scull
28	ChG 8+	Champion Girls Eight
29	ChB 4x	Champion Boys Quad Scull